Surprise! It’s Fasnacht!

Today I wasn’t really sure what to do with myself. I was cooped up inside binge watching HBO series and eating paprika chips.

Talk about oblivious.

20170225_162500-01
Lol, surprise there was a parade on.

At about 4:00pm some groups of young families started gathering on the street outside our place. I was wondering what all the fuss was about, and figured it had something to do with Fasnacht. So I googled it, and indeed today was the Kinderumzug – or Children’s Parade. This town sure knows how to look after its tamariki!

20170225_163504-01

I ran downstairs and put on my coat. In my slippers, I watched as the parade started. There was a brass band playing pop songs ( like, Shut up and Dance) followed by a number of different floats. These teams had been preparing since November, and the kids were loving it.

img_20170225_170148-01

I’ll explain more about what Fasnacht is in my post about Fasnacht in Schaffhausen and, most importantly, Basel in the coming weeks; but, in short, the deal is that during an Umzug, people get dressed up in costume, throw confetti at you and give you candy. Basically a kid’s dream!

20170225_163450-01

It was nice to see all the families out and supporting their local. Kids were getting into confetti feuds, and adults were drinking schnapps in their cliques.

20170225_163757-01

As an interesting add-on, it was less than five minutes after the parade had moved on to the local hall for the Maskenball, that people were on the street with leaf-blowers and street-cleaners tidying everything up. The only clue that anything even happened is the absolute carnage in my entry way!

20170225_163425-01

Anyway, Happy Fasnacht everyone! Stay tuned for updates on the bigger celebrations next week!

S

Leave a Reply

